Naughty Tomatoes, or Cheetos in India

My brother gave me some Indian Cheetos the other day. They’re called Kurkure Naughty Tomatoes. The flavor is kind of spicy-hot and exotic, with hints of tomato, cinnamon and onion. They’re reddish instead of superyellow-orange, and instead of a long list of ingredients with words nobody can pronounce, they’re pretty straightforward. Here’s what’s in them: Rice meal, vegetable oil, corn meal, gram meal, sugar, salt, tomato powder, chilli powder, onion powder, black pepper, ginger powder, clove, cinnamon, nutmeg, malic acid, citric acid, beet root juice powder.

That’s all. There’s even a recipe on the back of the bag for something you can make with the Naughty Tomatoes and serve with tea. I’ve thrown Cheetos on top of Campbell’s tomato soup for a goof, but really, I can’t think of anything I’d want to put Cheetos in.

Kurkure is owned by Pepsico Inc.

Naughty tomatoes, nice ingredients

Leave a comment